Reviews

Guests have kindly left messages and reviews on the VRBO “Travelers Reviews” page and in a guest book provided in the hopartment. Here are a handful of them. (Please note: the owners, Brian & Kimberley, were living overseas for over a year, hence the lack of reviews since 2013. The unit is currently being painted and enhanced – updated photos and reviews will be posted soon.)

Guest: Annalee (Philipsburg, MT)
Date of Stay: 04/23/16 Review Submitted: 04/25/16 via AirBnB

These two lovely beer fanatics and their equally lovely little family made us feel right at home during our short celebration weekend in Portland. Quick to respond, easy to contact, and generally wonderful folks! The hopartment itself was perfect for our four person (two couples) basecamp. Enough space to lounge comfortably and stay cozy. There was a local variety pack of beer in the fridge upon our arrival, clean towels, clean sheets, coffee, and even shower toiletries! The beds were VERY comfortable, making it tempting to lounge instead of exploring the area – but don’t! The SE area is full of great food, beer, shops, coffee, cider, donuts, and books! We considered moving in but decided we ought to get back to reality in MT. We’ll definitely be back, though! Cheers to Brian and Kimberley as excellent hosts!

Beervana really is nirvana (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Martha W (St. Paul, MN)
Date of Stay: 03/13/16 Review Submitted: 03/31/16 via VRBO

I recently spent a week in Beervana with my two small dogs after a lengthy road-trip across the US. The description and pictures were very accurate, zero surprises there. Basically, a lovely, spacious and clean suite with an EXTREMELY comfortable bed, a convenient parking spot, a hot shower and all the amenities of home. The hosts were quick to respond to any inquiries, and they went out of their way more than once to make sure my dogs were content in their new home. Because I was new to the neighborhood, they also gave me tons of great tips regarding things to see and do, and places to eat and walk the dogs. They even left me some cider upon arrival! (I’m celiac and certainly didn’t expect that. It was such a nice welcoming gesture!) Needless to say, I’m looking forward to staying here again next time I’m in Portland! Highly recommended.

Guest: Andrea (Hyannis, MA)
Date of Stay: 10/25/15 Review Submitted: 10/28/15 via AirBnB

Brian could not have been more accommodating! We booked months in advance for a girls weekend, and our headcount per night changed multiple times over the couple months. Brian always responded with a “no problem” and was very easy going! Upon arrival, we met Brian and his wife and they couldn’t have been kinder! He genuinely was interested in our event (Hanson) even went out of his way to try to get some special beer, MMMHops for us!! The space itself was incredible! Inn Beervana is a stand-alone building next to the main house, with a side entrance off the quiet street. First floor is a fully stocked kitchen (you could easily cook a gourmet meal) and a nice sized bathroom. The shower was great too! The upstairs is one LARGE room with a bed, a futon, and the loft bed. Also, a desk, chair, and washer/dryer! The ceilings are cathedral and that created a very airy and spacious feel. Outside there was also a patio with a table and chairs for 6(?) people. We had 5-6 people and it was plenty of space for our group. The main beds were both extremely comfortable, the kind where you sink right in and want to sleep forever. The location was extremely convenient as we were there to see two Hanson shows at the Hawthorne Theater (a 3 minute walk). Also there was a grocery store RIGHT across the street, and an easy walk to restaurants/bars/coffee shops/everything. I HIGHLY recommend this place!! 5 stars all around!!

Guest: Cameron (Austin, TX)
Date of Stay: 08/15/15 Review Submitted: 08/22/15 via AirBnB

A perfect Airbnb experience! Brian and his family were all extremely kind and welcoming. Communication was a breeze and Brian was happy to appease my inclination to chat Portland beer :). The apartment was well-designed and spotlessly clean, the photos do a great job showing you what you’re in for. The location was as good as it gets; walkable to anything you might want (including some world-class beer spots) but located on a quiet tree-lined side street. We won’t be staying anywhere else when we travel through Portland again. Look forward to coming back soon! Cheers!

Howdy from Texas (better than 5 out of 5 stars)

Comment from Portland beer vacation rental guests from Airbnb who left as friends from Austin

The Perfect Portland Vacation Location (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Bill A. (Cincinnati, OH)
Date of Stay: 06/03/13 Review Submitted: 06/25/13 via VRBO

We could not have found a better place to stay in Portland. The owners are fantastic hosts. They made a great vacation even better. They are very friendly and if you need suggestions beyond what they provide in the welcome folder (restaurants, things to see, etc and yes, the marionberry coffee cake they suggest is delicious!) they are more than happy to offer advice in person. The local beer they put in the refrigerator was delicious. Portland has an amazing selection of brewpubs and they know their beer. Do not hesitate to ask for advice. Be aware though, you will barely scratch the surface of the city’s amazing beers (a great reason to return!). We are also cider fans and had some of that as well. Ask about the country’s first cider bar, which is just a short drive away.

The apartment is perfectly sized for couples or families. You could not ask for a better location. It is just a two minute walk to public transportation, right across the street from a grocery store (and within a short walking distance of others), and a 20 minute bicycle ride to downtown. If you are in a car, on a bike, or taking public transportation, you could not find a better place to explore all of Portland.

The neighborhood itself is great too. We brought our dogs and they loved walking around and exploring all of the beautiful lawns. They also enjoyed sitting outside a couple of restaurants/brew pubs while we had dinner and drinks. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighborhood that are very dog friendly (in outdoor eating locations).

Want to go to a concert while in town? A venue is a five minute walk. The famous downtown bookstore too overwhelming? They have an annex right down the street. Vintage clothing? Tons of stores right there on Hawthorne. Restaurants, too many to mention, both those which have been mentioned in travel shows/guides as well as local gems that the owners can point you to.

Great, family-friendly beer-focused accommodation in wonderful PDX neighborhood (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Trevor (Surrey, BC)
Date of Stay: 03/23/13 Review Submitted: 04/02/13

The Inn was the perfect accomodation for our family of 4 (two kids under 10). For them, the highlight was the loft, which was nice and our 4 1/2yr old had no trouble on the ladder. For us, the location was ideal as we could explore the Hawthorne neighborhood on foot – although in our short stay, we barely scratched the surface. Access to the rest of Portland was a breeze and this area is central to it all. I was actually surprised that the living area was bigger than I had imagined based on the photos. The kitchen facilities were adequate and we cooked a couple meals during our stay. We also had a very friendly greeting on arrival from the owner and family and later a great chat about beer with the other owner. The 6-pack in the fridge was a most welcome bonus. Highly recommended. We would also highly recommend ‘Fried Egg I’m in Love’, ‘The Waffle Window’, and ‘Dick’s Kitchen’ in the area. Hopefully, we can make it back sometime and check more things out.

Our new home base in Portland (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Clay and Katy (Geyserville, CA)
Date of Stay: 03/16/13 Review Submitted: 04/02/13

This place was great! Convenient, central location in walking distance to everything we could ask for. The hopartment was super comfy for our family. We enjoyed the mixed 6 pack of craft beers left in the fridge for us upon our arrival. We will definitely be back! Thanks Brian and Kimberley!

A Night in Beervana…

Guest: Ted Rosenweig (Anchorage, AK)
Date of Stay: 01/10/13

…Or, more correctly, two nights at Inn Beervana…A friend familiar with my fetish with all things beer found something interesting on the VRBO website. Inn Beervana, a bed and breakfast (less the breakfast part) in the Hawthorne district of Portland. After a little research I decided to give it a try. At $125 a night (winter rate, $140 in the summer), it was a bargain bested only by Motel 6. I’m glad I did… A really cool giant custom painting of a hop vine on the wall above the master bed was a nice touch, but the property itself was simple and comfortable. Basically, it is a mother-in-law apartment with an above garage loft, 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, and an open floor plan. Clean. Nice. And they allow kids and dogs.

What made it worthwhile was the 6-pack of local craft beer in the fridge waiting for my (and every) arrival and the host, Brian Yaeger, who lives with his family in the adjacent house. Brian greeted us and hung out, talking beer, having a few, and dropping some choice advice on local beer tourism. A homebrewer and author of “Red, White, and Brew”, a book telling of his coast-to-coast beer journey, as well as a pending tome detailing each and every Oregon (brewery), he had the credentials to put us on the right path. He then unveiled the shining gem of our perfunctory local brew tour: Cascade Barrel House, just 5 minutes away. THIRTEEN DIFFERENT SOUR BEERS MADE ON SITE!!

He was relaxed and flexible with check-in and check-out times, which really helps the tourist at the whim of the cheapest possible AK Air flight. The location was perfect with many brewpubs, restaurants, and bars within walking distance or a quick cab ride of Portland’s nicest neighborhood. I would suggest Inn Beervana to be the perfect jumping-off point for the Alaskan beer tourist embarking on the Oregon brew trail. Cheap, clean, flexible accommodation for the whole family with great beer and great beer advice from a hospitable host at no added cost.

Fantastic Location, Awesome Apartment (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Kristin (Pullman, WA)
Date of Stay: 11/17/12 Review Submitted: 11/22/12

Other than some gloomy November weather, our visit couldn’t have been better. The owners were great to work with and check-in was a breeze. If you have a car and want to see more of pdx than downtown, this is the ideal place to stay. The Hawthorne/Belmont area is a great place to shop, eat, drink, and stroll. And with the free offstreet parking at the apartment, it’s really easy to drive to other parts of the city should the spirit move you. The apartment is really well equipped and comfortable. While we didn’t need to use the loft-bed space, it’d be great for kids! The main bed is super comfy and the seating area is really nice (we hosted visitors one night and it was really comfy).

We were actually supposed to leave a day earlier, but couldn’t help ourselves and ended up staying an extra day….staying here makes it hard to return to reality–the apartment. and location are so cozy and perfect that it’s hard to return to reality. Really enjoyed the neighborhood — Lucky Strike has the best Chinese food we’ve had in PDX, Hawthorne Hophouse has an impressive beer list, and Belmont Station…OMG…We might’ve spend our retirement savings; dangerous and delicious place (bottle shop and biercafe). We took our dog, and she too enjoyed the apartment and fenced yard, as well as some great dog walks at Laurelhurst Park and Mt. Tabor (both nearby). I wish I would’ve met the owners, but at the same time it’s cool to have owners respect privacy (some VRBO owners can be really invasive:-). A great and much needed beercation.

Inn Beervana is not only clever but the perfect place for vacationers

Guest: Ann & Adam (Kimberly, Wisc.)
Date of Stay: 08/31/12

We loved Hawthorne Blvd and all it had to offer–especially the Bagdad. Wow- what an atmosphere. Thanks for welcoming us Wisconsinites and talking “beer” with us.

Great Home base for exploration for active vacationers (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: HiMyNameIsJoy (San Antonio, TX)
Date of Stay: 06/28/12 Review Submitted: 07/10/12

My husband, 1-year-old daughter, and I stayed at Inn Beervana during our very first family vacation this summer. We are very active vacationers and love to get out and explore our destination, and Inn Beervana was a great home base for exploring the city of Portland and the state. We traveled to the Oregon coast (Seaside, Cannon Beach, and Tillamook), Eugene, and the Columbia River Gorge/Mt Hood area. At the end of a long day, it was so refreshing to come back to the “hopartment,” which truly felt like a home away from home. (Other reviewers have mentioned the comfortable bed, and we can confirm that the bed is divine!) The location truly cannot be beat. Hawthorne is two short blocks away, and there are tons of restaurants, shops (including a Powell’s Books location), and family-friendly pubs within walking distance. It’s also very easy to get around town without a car, since there’s a bus stop just a block or so down Hawthorne. Having the Fred Meyer’s supermarket within such close proximity was extremely convenient, especially with the little “emergencies” that pop up when you’ve got a toddler! Brian and Kimberley were also exceedingly hospitable and welcoming, even helping to set us up with a babysitter so my husband and I could have a couple of date nights. We loved our trip so much that we are seriously considering relocating there from Texas. We can’t wait to see Brian, Kimberley, adorable Izzy, and of course sweet Dunkel, the family dog, on a return trip (maybe as a home base for a house-hunting trip)!

We have reached Beervana in Portlandia (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Brandie and Mike (Midland, Michigan)
Date of Stay: 05/24/12 Review Submitted: 06/03/12

We enjoyed Inn Beervana so much that we stayed an extra night. Then after that night, we still didn’t want to leave…. Location, location, location! This quaint and cozy two-story garage apartment is in the best location in Portland. We didn’t need to drive anywhere once we arrived, except for our ex-PDX adventures to the Gorge for hiking and the Willamette Valley for pinot tasting. Brian and Kim have pulled together an entire booklet of places to see within 2 miles of the Inn, breweries around Portland, and many of the great places to eat. If you’re active and need to burn off all of the calories from the beers and food cart delicacies, Mount Tabor and Laurelhurst parks are nearby for running and hiking. If you still haven’t found what you’re looking for, the knowledgeable Portland guru’s of the Inn Beervana will provide even more recommendations. Back to the accommodations…there was a mixed six-pack of local beers chilled in the refrigerator when we arrived. It was a refreshing assortment of IPA’s, stouts, and summer ales that we sipped on while pondering our daily agendas. The place seems recently renovated and extremely clean…and the bed was THE most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. They have paid attention to every detail and it made us feel at home. Well, except that we currently do not have a wall beautifully painted with hops at our house, but I have a feeling there will be a request for that some time in the near future. We arrived in Portland as tourists, and left feeling as though we stayed in the house next to our friends for a few days. We can’t wait to go back!!!

Cozy loft in hopping neighborhood (no pun intended) (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: dk (Seattle)
Date of Stay: 04/06/12 Review Submitted: 04/09/12

Brian, Kimberley, Izzy and Dunkel were wonderful hosts! We loved the custom six-pack of craft brews greeting us in the fridge. The loft is in a great location, walking distance to lots of great food, drink and more. Loved Mt. Tabor park, too! Very laid-back and welcoming hosts. We brought our dog and she loved the fenced in area, too. We’ll be coming back again.

Truly a home away from home (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Maya (Phoenix, AZ)
Date of Stay: 09/03/11 Review Submitted: 09/08/11

I had an amazing trip to Portland in large part to the great home base I had to come back to every day after beer-adventuring. The hopartment is a stone’s throw away from some great pubs & food, a quick bus trip into downtown and a day trip away to some great breweries in Astoria & Hood River. Brian’s enthusiasm & knowledge is inspiring and extensive providing for great stories & suggestions. Everything about the Inn made me feel right at home – especially the brews waiting for me in the fridge upon arrival, the luxuriously comfortable bed, grilling on the spacious patio with the offer of fresh vegetables picked from the home garden and the ever friendly butt-bump from Dunkel, the family beer dog, whose happy wag and irresistible face is reason enough to ensure my return. Thanks for being such kind and gracious hosts!

Loved It (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Jen and Dave (Mountain View, CA)
Date of Stay: 08/11/11

Inn Beervana is a great new lodging option in Portland for anyone, but especially for beer-geeks! Brian knows everything there is to know about beer (nationally and locally) and provided us with a lot of recommendations and a great 6-pack sampler upon arrival. The apartment is clean, spacious, conveniently located, and stocked with everything you could need, including local guidebooks and magazines. We loved meeting Brian, Half Pint, and their friendly dog. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful and we would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone.

OMG!

Guest: Julia (Boulder, CO)
Date of Stay: 08/18/11

Wall to wall greatness going on here. What a gem to find. Thank you for the wonderful and cozy home away from home. Many great beers to all who stay here.

Utopia in Beervana (5 out of 5 stars)

Guest: Kevin (Chicago)
Date of Stay: 07/01/11

Wow! – this place was great! I was so lucky to have found this jewel nestled in the heart of one of the hottest spots in Portland (Hawthorne District). I did an extended stay at the Inn Beervana and had the best experience. The unit itself is a cottage detached / and set behind the main house. So, with it’s own private access, you get the feeling you’re in your own comfortable little home. The owners were incredibly nice, professional and accommodating. The unit was decorated in a very cool, hip and sophisticated style. It was really like staying in a private hotel suite stocked with everything I could possibly need for day-to-day living. Most important, the unit was squeaky clean and met all my needs. I would absolutely stay at this place again in a heartbeat! – Thanks Kimberley and Brian for making my stay at your Inn Beervana absolutely perfect! – good luck to you guys. I promise to return!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s